Dad Wins the Internet for Hijacked Post on Wife’s Blog

One father’s social media post is making waves in the ocean of moms across the globe for his heartfelt breakthrough. His post, uploaded to his wife’s “mom page” on Facebook last December, has since gone viral with shares and likes from moms everywhere. Why? He admitted to understanding just how selfless and exhausting being a mom truly is and decided to give props to his wife. Publicly. Cue the mass accolades from every household from here to Timbuktu.

3

Adele Barbero.  Adele Barbero is a mother of two from Melbourne, Australia. She loves to blog about her littles and life as a mom in her social media profiles, and it’s quite evident she is a very loving and dedicated wife and mother to her family. Adele’s Facebook page, The Real Mumma, is dedicated to “an honest insight into motherhood,” according to her page. Her usual posts include the very real (and very raw) ordeals that moms go through every day and the level of stress and exhaustion that comes along with such pure love.

2

The Real Mumma.  Her posts garner thousands of likes and shares on the regular – she is a highly relatable mom and wife with views that resonate with moms everywhere. But it was one post in particular that has gained her blog some viral notoriety – and it was a post from her hijacking husband. No matter how hard we try to avoid it, moms get sick. It’s inevitable. You’re around germy kiddos and your immune system takes a beating with the lack of sleep and constant running around. When Adele Barbero got sick, her husband Paul took over duties for a while. Including her social media blog.

1

His Post. “At first I was pretty proud of myself, I’d gotten two kids and an adult into bed by 7:30 p.m. As I strutted quietly out of the room, I started thinking about how I’d spend my night; eating Nutella from a jar while watching Back to the Future was my first thought,” Paul’s post on his wife’s social media page began. “Then I turned back, looked at my wife and little girl, and it hit me like a ton of bricks: both of them are so sick, really congested, and absolutely exhausted after three nights in a row with barely any sleep. I felt like such an a** thinking about how I could now enjoy a few hours of ‘me time’ when she has put me and this family before her own health and hasn’t moaned once,” he continued.

4

Badass Mom. “Would you believe I came home to a gourmet-cooked meal, clean house, and somehow a load of wash done, folded, and put away? Like my wife somehow has four extra hours in a day that the rest of us mere mortals don’t get,” he wrote.

Paul’s post led him to understand just how trivial his previous thoughts were. Had he really managed a feat worthy of pride by getting them to bed in time to enjoy some “me time?” His night of caring for his sick wife and kids made him realize just how much more was involved in his wife’s role in their family.

“Tonight, as I was comforting Chloe and trying to get her to sleep, Adele said she was just gonna lay down for a bit before tidying the kitchen and making me some lunch for tomorrow,” Paul wrote. His words were profound and struck a chord with so many readers.

“Her last thought before passing out was, ‘I must clean the kitchen and make my hubby some lunch,’ and my last thought was, ‘Ooh, snacks and TV,’” he said in a breakthrough “ah-ha!” kind of moment. And there it was, as raw as can be: the level of unselfishness that moms put in day in and day out.

11

The Ah-Ha! Moment. After posting his realization to his wife’s page, Paul wrote that he headed off to clean the kitchen for his wife and try to think of other ways to help ease her daily load. “I’m off to clean that kitchen, and then look around this house to see what I can do to make her day a little easier tomorrow,” he said.

One of those “things” he did to make his wife’s day a little easier was the post itself. Posting to her page, Paul wrote, “I’ve written this post to tell you that behind all the blog posts, jokes, recommendations, reviews and giveaways, there is a real person and she is an amazing woman whom I adore.”

“As a man, I don’t think I’ve ever truly known or will know exhaustion in the same way a Mum does,” he wrote. After stating he was going to make a bigger effort to contribute to household chores and responsibilities by putting others in front of his own needs, Paul urged fellow dads to do the same.

“Any other husbands reading this, I urge you to do the same… I’m willing to bet dollars to donuts that the real mumma in your household is just as exhausted,” Paul wrote. Mic. Drop. The internet has gone crazy over the post as it’s gone viral with shares and comments.

It was Adele’s own response to the post that proved just how bada** moms truly are: “This was so nice to wake up to when I fed Chloe in the middle of the night. I’m really lucky to be in such a supportive relationship. Thanks babe,” she wrote. Bad. Ass.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑